Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1988-89 Schedule and Results

1988-89 Atlanta Hawks Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 52-30, Finished 3rd in NBA Central Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Mike Fratello (52-30)

PTS/G: 111.0 (9th of 25) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 106.1 (7th of 25)
SRS: 5.26 (5th of 25) ▪ Pace: 98.3 (19th of 25)
Off Rtg: 112.2 (4th of 25) ▪ Def Rtg: 107.2 (9th of 25)
Expected W-L: 54-28 (6th of 25)

Arena: Omni Coliseum ▪ Attendance: 644,291 (11th of 25)

NBA 1989 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Eastern Conference First Round (2-3) versus Milwaukee Bucks  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Nov 4, 1988 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 113 105 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Nov 5, 1988 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 107 94 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Nov 8, 1988 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 112 107 3 0 W 3
4 Wed, Nov 9, 1988 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L OT 95 101 3 1 L 1
5 Fri, Nov 11, 1988 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 105 107 3 2 L 2
6 Sat, Nov 12, 1988 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 132 111 4 2 W 1
7 Tue, Nov 15, 1988 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 97 95 5 2 W 2
8 Fri, Nov 18, 1988 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L OT 112 115 5 3 L 1
9 Sat, Nov 19, 1988 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 111 92 6 3 W 1
10 Mon, Nov 21, 1988 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 113 117 6 4 L 1
11 Wed, Nov 23, 1988 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 109 119 6 5 L 2
12 Fri, Nov 25, 1988 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 95 100 6 6 L 3
13 Sat, Nov 26, 1988 Box Score Boston Celtics W 104 91 7 6 W 1
14 Tue, Nov 29, 1988 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 120 104 8 6 W 2
15 Thu, Dec 1, 1988 Box Score Washington Bullets W 127 115 9 6 W 3
16 Sat, Dec 3, 1988 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 115 97 10 6 W 4
17 Tue, Dec 6, 1988 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 123 113 11 6 W 5
18 Wed, Dec 7, 1988 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 106 103 12 6 W 6
19 Fri, Dec 9, 1988 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 82 92 12 7 L 1
20 Sat, Dec 10, 1988 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 130 133 12 8 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 13, 1988 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 106 88 13 8 W 1
22 Wed, Dec 14, 1988 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 103 96 14 8 W 2
23 Fri, Dec 16, 1988 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 115 112 15 8 W 3
24 Sat, Dec 17, 1988 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 94 120 15 9 L 1
25 Tue, Dec 20, 1988 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 121 118 16 9 W 1
26 Fri, Dec 23, 1988 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 131 114 17 9 W 2
27 Tue, Dec 27, 1988 Box Score New York Knicks W 128 126 18 9 W 3
28 Fri, Dec 30, 1988 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 117 113 19 9 W 4
29 Tue, Jan 3, 1989 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 123 104 20 9 W 5
30 Wed, Jan 4, 1989 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 113 116 20 10 L 1
31 Fri, Jan 6, 1989 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 88 111 20 11 L 2
32 Sat, Jan 7, 1989 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 103 93 21 11 W 1
33 Tue, Jan 10, 1989 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 101 104 21 12 L 1
34 Fri, Jan 13, 1989 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 101 114 21 13 L 2
35 Sat, Jan 14, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 122 132 21 14 L 3
36 Mon, Jan 16, 1989 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 117 106 22 14 W 1
37 Tue, Jan 17, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 111 98 23 14 W 2
38 Sat, Jan 21, 1989 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 137 113 24 14 W 3
39 Tue, Jan 24, 1989 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 121 105 25 14 W 4
40 Fri, Jan 27, 1989 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 112 119 25 15 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Jan 28, 1989 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 94 110 25 16 L 2
42 Mon, Jan 30, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 130 101 26 16 W 1
43 Wed, Feb 1, 1989 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 94 93 27 16 W 2
44 Thu, Feb 2, 1989 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 103 112 27 17 L 1
45 Sat, Feb 4, 1989 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W OT 118 116 28 17 W 1
46 Wed, Feb 8, 1989 Box Score New York Knicks L 101 113 28 18 L 1
47 Thu, Feb 9, 1989 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 108 110 28 19 L 2
48 Tue, Feb 14, 1989 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 106 98 29 19 W 1
49 Wed, Feb 15, 1989 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 119 112 30 19 W 2
50 Fri, Feb 17, 1989 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 108 100 31 19 W 3
51 Sun, Feb 19, 1989 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 115 124 31 20 L 1
52 Mon, Feb 20, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 114 100 32 20 W 1
53 Thu, Feb 23, 1989 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 100 97 33 20 W 2
54 Sat, Feb 25, 1989 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 125 95 34 20 W 3
55 Mon, Feb 27, 1989 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 105 83 35 20 W 4
56 Wed, Mar 1, 1989 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 90 104 35 21 L 1
57 Fri, Mar 3, 1989 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 133 109 36 21 W 1
58 Sun, Mar 5, 1989 Box Score Utah Jazz L 83 85 36 22 L 1
59 Tue, Mar 7, 1989 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 97 106 36 23 L 2
60 Wed, Mar 8, 1989 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 111 119 36 24 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Mar 11, 1989 Box Score Miami Heat W 111 78 37 24 W 1
62 Tue, Mar 14, 1989 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 112 114 37 25 L 1
63 Thu, Mar 16, 1989 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings W 119 103 38 25 W 1
64 Fri, Mar 17, 1989 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L OT 118 127 38 26 L 1
65 Sun, Mar 19, 1989 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 113 111 39 26 W 1
66 Tue, Mar 21, 1989 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 95 110 39 27 L 1
67 Sat, Mar 25, 1989 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 115 108 40 27 W 1
68 Tue, Mar 28, 1989 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 108 111 40 28 L 1
69 Wed, Mar 29, 1989 Box Score Washington Bullets W 120 102 41 28 W 1
70 Fri, Mar 31, 1989 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 116 99 42 28 W 2
71 Sun, Apr 2, 1989 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 132 109 43 28 W 3
72 Tue, Apr 4, 1989 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 91 105 43 29 L 1
73 Wed, Apr 5, 1989 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 135 93 44 29 W 1
74 Fri, Apr 7, 1989 Box Score Houston Rockets W OT 120 112 45 29 W 2
75 Sun, Apr 9, 1989 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 108 100 46 29 W 3
76 Mon, Apr 10, 1989 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets W 112 105 47 29 W 4
77 Thu, Apr 13, 1989 Box Score Boston Celtics W 132 118 48 29 W 5
78 Sat, Apr 15, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 125 100 49 29 W 6
79 Tue, Apr 18, 1989 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers W 121 114 50 29 W 7
80 Wed, Apr 19, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 100 92 51 29 W 8
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 21, 1989 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 92 89 52 29 W 9
82 Sun, Apr 23, 1989 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 81 99 52 30 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 27, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 100 92 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Apr 29, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 98 108 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, May 2, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L OT 113 117 1 2 L 2
4 Fri, May 5, 1989 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W OT 113 106 2 2 W 1
5 Sun, May 7, 1989 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 92 96 2 3 L 1