Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Detroit Pistons > 1997-98 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:NCAA Tournament Features

1997-98 Detroit Pistons Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 37-45, Finished 6th in NBA Central Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Doug Collins (21-24), Alvin Gentry (16-21)

PTS/G: 94.2 (20th of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 92.6 (9th of 29)
SRS: 1.95 (13th of 29) ▪ Pace: 88.2 (24th of 29)
Off Rtg: 105.3 (13th of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 103.5 (9th of 29)
Expected W-L: 46-36 (13th of 29)

Arena: The Palace of Auburn Hills ▪ Attendance: 794,567 (7th of 29)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 31, 1997 Box Score Washington Wizards W 92 79 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Nov 2, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 94 86 2 0 W 2
3 Tue, Nov 4, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 71 82 2 1 L 1
4 Wed, Nov 5, 1997 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 87 99 2 2 L 2
5 Fri, Nov 7, 1997 Box Score Orlando Magic L 84 89 2 3 L 3
6 Sun, Nov 9, 1997 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies L OT 96 104 2 4 L 4
7 Mon, Nov 10, 1997 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 82 86 2 5 L 5
8 Wed, Nov 12, 1997 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 102 71 3 5 W 1
9 Thu, Nov 13, 1997 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 89 95 3 6 L 1
10 Sat, Nov 15, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets W OT 96 88 4 6 W 1
11 Tue, Nov 18, 1997 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 79 87 4 7 L 1
12 Thu, Nov 20, 1997 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 87 93 4 8 L 2
13 Sat, Nov 22, 1997 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 87 85 5 8 W 1
14 Sun, Nov 23, 1997 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 86 90 5 9 L 1
15 Tue, Nov 25, 1997 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 85 90 5 10 L 2
16 Fri, Nov 28, 1997 Box Score New York Knicks W 86 78 6 10 W 1
17 Sun, Nov 30, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies L 95 97 6 11 L 1
18 Wed, Dec 3, 1997 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 3OT 108 103 7 11 W 1
19 Fri, Dec 5, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 89 94 7 12 L 1
20 Sun, Dec 7, 1997 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 93 83 8 12 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Tue, Dec 9, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 92 83 9 12 W 2
22 Thu, Dec 11, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 103 99 10 12 W 3
23 Sat, Dec 13, 1997 Box Score Boston Celtics W 93 77 11 12 W 4
24 Tue, Dec 16, 1997 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 78 83 11 13 L 1
25 Wed, Dec 17, 1997 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 101 105 11 14 L 2
26 Fri, Dec 19, 1997 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 90 98 11 15 L 3
27 Sat, Dec 20, 1997 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 115 78 12 15 W 1
28 Mon, Dec 22, 1997 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 96 92 13 15 W 2
29 Fri, Dec 26, 1997 Box Score Miami Heat L 74 88 13 16 L 1
30 Sun, Dec 28, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves L 89 93 13 17 L 2
31 Tue, Dec 30, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 100 95 14 17 W 1
32 Fri, Jan 2, 1998 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 91 88 15 17 W 2
33 Sat, Jan 3, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 96 105 15 18 L 1
34 Fri, Jan 9, 1998 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 101 72 16 18 W 1
35 Sun, Jan 11, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 113 85 17 18 W 2
36 Wed, Jan 14, 1998 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 93 100 17 19 L 1
37 Thu, Jan 15, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W OT 95 94 18 19 W 1
38 Mon, Jan 19, 1998 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 89 98 18 20 L 1
39 Wed, Jan 21, 1998 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 87 67 19 20 W 1
40 Thu, Jan 22, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 94 76 20 20 W 2 at Anaheim, CA
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sat, Jan 24, 1998 Box Score New York Knicks L 92 99 20 21 L 1
42 Tue, Jan 27, 1998 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 81 83 20 22 L 2
43 Wed, Jan 28, 1998 Box Score Orlando Magic W 91 86 21 22 W 1
44 Fri, Jan 30, 1998 Box Score Washington Wizards L 95 102 21 23 L 1
45 Sat, Jan 31, 1998 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 88 90 21 24 L 2
46 Mon, Feb 2, 1998 Box Score @ Washington Wizards L 101 113 21 25 L 3
47 Thu, Feb 5, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets W 104 92 22 25 W 1
48 Wed, Feb 11, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 95 83 23 25 W 2
49 Fri, Feb 13, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat L 86 100 23 26 L 1
50 Sun, Feb 15, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 90 99 23 27 L 2
51 Tue, Feb 17, 1998 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 94 95 23 28 L 3
52 Thu, Feb 19, 1998 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 90 100 23 29 L 4
53 Sat, Feb 21, 1998 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 94 82 24 29 W 1
54 Mon, Feb 23, 1998 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 111 85 25 29 W 2
55 Wed, Feb 25, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets L 88 98 25 30 L 1
56 Fri, Feb 27, 1998 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 90 87 26 30 W 1
57 Sun, Mar 1, 1998 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 2OT 113 115 26 31 L 1
58 Mon, Mar 2, 1998 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 100 94 27 31 W 1
59 Wed, Mar 4, 1998 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 89 109 27 32 L 1
60 Thu, Mar 5, 1998 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 93 102 27 33 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sun, Mar 8, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 89 96 27 34 L 3
62 Wed, Mar 11, 1998 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 122 91 28 34 W 1
63 Fri, Mar 13, 1998 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 96 92 29 34 W 2
64 Sun, Mar 15, 1998 Box Score Utah Jazz L 98 109 29 35 L 1
65 Mon, Mar 16, 1998 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 103 90 30 35 W 1
66 Wed, Mar 18, 1998 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 96 104 30 36 L 1
67 Fri, Mar 20, 1998 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 105 99 31 36 W 1
68 Sun, Mar 22, 1998 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 105 98 32 36 W 2
69 Mon, Mar 23, 1998 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 94 79 33 36 W 3
70 Wed, Mar 25, 1998 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 103 94 34 36 W 4
71 Fri, Mar 27, 1998 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L OT 87 88 34 37 L 1
72 Sun, Mar 29, 1998 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 95 118 34 38 L 2
73 Tue, Mar 31, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L OT 101 106 34 39 L 3
74 Wed, Apr 1, 1998 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 90 92 34 40 L 4
75 Fri, Apr 3, 1998 Box Score Boston Celtics L 100 101 34 41 L 5
76 Sun, Apr 5, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L OT 103 105 34 42 L 6
77 Wed, Apr 8, 1998 Box Score @ Orlando Magic L 87 95 34 43 L 7
78 Thu, Apr 9, 1998 Box Score @ Washington Wizards W 102 83 35 43 W 1
79 Sun, Apr 12, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 86 88 35 44 L 1
80 Wed, Apr 15, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 87 79 36 44 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 17, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 108 102 37 44 W 2
82 Sun, Apr 19, 1998 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets L 101 114 37 45 L 1