Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1980-81 Schedule and Results

1980-81 New Jersey Nets Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 24-58, Finished 5th in NBA Atlantic Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Kevin Loughery (12-23), Bob MacKinnon (12-35)

PTS/G: 106.9 (15th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 113.0 (22nd of 23)
SRS: -5.15 (20th of 23) ▪ Pace: 105.2 (2nd of 23)
Off Rtg: 101.0 (22nd of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 106.7 (15th of 23)
Expected W-L: 26-56 (20th of 23)

Arena: Rutgers Athletic Center ▪ Attendance: 301,900 (20th of 23)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 10, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 91 110 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Oct 11, 1980 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 99 96 1 1 W 1
3 Mon, Oct 13, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 108 92 2 1 W 2
4 Wed, Oct 15, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 111 119 2 2 L 1
5 Fri, Oct 17, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets W 114 112 3 2 W 1
6 Sat, Oct 18, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 107 90 4 2 W 2
7 Sun, Oct 19, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 93 105 4 3 L 1
8 Wed, Oct 22, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics L 104 108 4 4 L 2
9 Fri, Oct 24, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 112 126 4 5 L 3
10 Sat, Oct 25, 1980 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 101 105 4 6 L 4
11 Wed, Oct 29, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 116 132 4 7 L 5
12 Fri, Oct 31, 1980 Box Score Washington Bullets W 100 98 5 7 W 1
13 Sat, Nov 1, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 100 113 5 8 L 1
14 Wed, Nov 5, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 105 120 5 9 L 2
15 Sat, Nov 8, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 115 111 6 9 W 1
16 Wed, Nov 12, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 118 111 7 9 W 2
17 Fri, Nov 14, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 102 126 7 10 L 1
18 Sat, Nov 15, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 108 115 7 11 L 2
19 Sun, Nov 16, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 89 80 8 11 W 1
20 Wed, Nov 19, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs L OT 104 112 8 12 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 21, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets L 108 116 8 13 L 2
22 Sat, Nov 22, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 103 117 8 14 L 3
23 Wed, Nov 26, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 100 118 8 15 L 4
24 Fri, Nov 28, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 122 95 9 15 W 1
25 Sun, Nov 30, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 89 113 9 16 L 1
26 Tue, Dec 2, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 118 105 10 16 W 1
27 Wed, Dec 3, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 108 131 10 17 L 1
28 Fri, Dec 5, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 90 88 11 17 W 1
29 Sun, Dec 7, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 95 98 11 18 L 1
30 Wed, Dec 10, 1980 Box Score New York Knicks L 104 106 11 19 L 2
31 Fri, Dec 12, 1980 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 104 119 11 20 L 3
32 Sun, Dec 14, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 107 114 11 21 L 4
33 Tue, Dec 16, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 114 131 11 22 L 5
34 Wed, Dec 17, 1980 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 115 112 12 22 W 1
35 Fri, Dec 19, 1980 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 107 122 12 23 L 1
36 Tue, Dec 23, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 109 125 12 24 L 2
37 Thu, Dec 25, 1980 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 94 109 12 25 L 3
38 Fri, Dec 26, 1980 Box Score Atlanta Hawks L 95 108 12 26 L 4
39 Sun, Dec 28, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 99 102 12 27 L 5
40 Tue, Dec 30, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 110 121 12 28 L 6
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 2, 1981 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers L 105 111 12 29 L 7
42 Sun, Jan 4, 1981 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 104 113 12 30 L 8
43 Tue, Jan 6, 1981 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 86 102 12 31 L 9
44 Wed, Jan 7, 1981 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 103 112 12 32 L 10
45 Fri, Jan 9, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 95 112 12 33 L 11
46 Sat, Jan 10, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics L 115 117 12 34 L 12
47 Wed, Jan 14, 1981 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 105 110 12 35 L 13
48 Fri, Jan 16, 1981 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 111 113 12 36 L 14
49 Sat, Jan 17, 1981 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 116 104 13 36 W 1
50 Sun, Jan 18, 1981 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 99 110 13 37 L 1
51 Wed, Jan 21, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W OT 126 122 14 37 W 1
52 Thu, Jan 22, 1981 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 94 108 14 38 L 1
53 Sun, Jan 25, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets L 100 118 14 39 L 2
54 Tue, Jan 27, 1981 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 112 100 15 39 W 1
55 Wed, Jan 28, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 99 111 15 40 L 1
56 Thu, Jan 29, 1981 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 108 122 15 41 L 2
57 Wed, Feb 4, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers L 102 110 15 42 L 3
58 Sat, Feb 7, 1981 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 106 113 15 43 L 4
59 Sun, Feb 8, 1981 Box Score New York Knicks L 102 116 15 44 L 5
60 Wed, Feb 11, 1981 Box Score Chicago Bulls W OT 135 133 16 44 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Fri, Feb 13, 1981 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 103 100 17 44 W 2
62 Sun, Feb 15, 1981 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 134 132 18 44 W 3
63 Wed, Feb 18, 1981 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 110 108 19 44 W 4
64 Fri, Feb 20, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W OT 123 113 20 44 W 5
65 Sun, Feb 22, 1981 Box Score Dallas Mavericks L 109 132 20 45 L 1
66 Tue, Feb 24, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 123 140 20 46 L 2
67 Wed, Feb 25, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 106 132 20 47 L 3
68 Fri, Feb 27, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 103 107 20 48 L 4
69 Sun, Mar 1, 1981 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 104 117 20 49 L 5
70 Tue, Mar 3, 1981 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 102 128 20 50 L 6
71 Fri, Mar 6, 1981 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 106 109 20 51 L 7
72 Wed, Mar 11, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets W 109 104 21 51 W 1
73 Fri, Mar 13, 1981 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers W 140 125 22 51 W 2
74 Sun, Mar 15, 1981 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 125 133 22 52 L 1
75 Tue, Mar 17, 1981 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W OT 126 120 23 52 W 1
76 Wed, Mar 18, 1981 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons L 115 118 23 53 L 1
77 Fri, Mar 20, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 108 96 24 53 W 1
78 Sun, Mar 22, 1981 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks L 116 125 24 54 L 1
79 Tue, Mar 24, 1981 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 107 131 24 55 L 2
80 Wed, Mar 25, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics L 105 111 24 56 L 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Sat, Mar 28, 1981 Box Score New York Knicks L 88 90 24 57 L 4
82 Sun, Mar 29, 1981 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 95 103 24 58 L 5