Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Phoenix Suns > 1980-81 Schedule and Results

News: s-r blog:Linkable Shot Charts

1980-81 Phoenix Suns Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 57-25, Finished 1st in NBA Pacific Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: John MacLeod (57-25)

PTS/G: 110.0 (7th of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 104.5 (3rd of 23)
SRS: 4.83 (4th of 23) ▪ Pace: 104.7 (3rd of 23)
Off Rtg: 104.6 (15th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 99.4 (1st of 23)
Expected W-L: 55-27 (4th of 23)

Arena: Arizona Veterans Memorial Coliseum ▪ Attendance: 482,693 (6th of 23)

NBA 1981 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Semifinals (4-3) versus Kansas City Kings  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 10, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 121 101 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Oct 12, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 109 100 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Oct 15, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 107 93 3 0 W 3
4 Fri, Oct 17, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 109 116 3 1 L 1
5 Sun, Oct 19, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 102 84 4 1 W 1
6 Tue, Oct 21, 1980 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 111 99 5 1 W 2
7 Fri, Oct 24, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 117 94 6 1 W 3
8 Sat, Oct 25, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 100 75 7 1 W 4
9 Wed, Oct 29, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 105 89 8 1 W 5
10 Fri, Oct 31, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W OT 103 98 9 1 W 6
11 Sat, Nov 1, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 127 100 10 1 W 7
12 Tue, Nov 4, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 109 108 11 1 W 8
13 Wed, Nov 5, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 84 114 11 2 L 1
14 Sat, Nov 8, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 116 115 12 2 W 1
15 Tue, Nov 11, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 109 107 13 2 W 2
16 Wed, Nov 12, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 130 127 14 2 W 3
17 Sat, Nov 15, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 108 119 14 3 L 1
18 Sun, Nov 16, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 119 107 15 3 W 1
19 Tue, Nov 18, 1980 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 102 91 16 3 W 2
20 Thu, Nov 20, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 102 99 17 3 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 21, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 88 116 17 4 L 1
22 Sun, Nov 23, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 131 113 18 4 W 1
23 Wed, Nov 26, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 113 103 19 4 W 2
24 Fri, Nov 28, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 102 101 20 4 W 3
25 Sat, Nov 29, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 113 108 21 4 W 4
26 Sun, Nov 30, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets W 117 114 22 4 W 5
27 Tue, Dec 2, 1980 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 122 107 23 4 W 6
28 Wed, Dec 3, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 100 103 23 5 L 1
29 Fri, Dec 5, 1980 Box Score New Jersey Nets L 88 90 23 6 L 2
30 Sun, Dec 7, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 106 88 24 6 W 1
31 Tue, Dec 9, 1980 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 123 108 25 6 W 2
32 Wed, Dec 10, 1980 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 90 102 25 7 L 1
33 Sun, Dec 14, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 110 116 25 8 L 2
34 Wed, Dec 17, 1980 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 115 102 26 8 W 1
35 Fri, Dec 19, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 108 90 27 8 W 2
36 Sun, Dec 21, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers W 111 100 28 8 W 3
37 Mon, Dec 22, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 109 98 29 8 W 4
38 Tue, Dec 23, 1980 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 113 104 30 8 W 5
39 Thu, Dec 25, 1980 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 131 111 31 8 W 6
40 Sat, Dec 27, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 116 106 32 8 W 7
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Tue, Dec 30, 1980 Box Score Boston Celtics L 97 116 32 9 L 1
42 Fri, Jan 2, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 133 132 33 9 W 1
43 Tue, Jan 6, 1981 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 113 106 34 9 W 2
44 Wed, Jan 7, 1981 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 90 108 34 10 L 1
45 Fri, Jan 9, 1981 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 112 95 35 10 W 1
46 Sun, Jan 11, 1981 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 109 123 35 11 L 1
47 Tue, Jan 13, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 104 99 36 11 W 1
48 Wed, Jan 14, 1981 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 128 102 37 11 W 2
49 Fri, Jan 16, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 92 89 38 11 W 3
50 Sun, Jan 18, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 120 86 39 11 W 4
51 Tue, Jan 20, 1981 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L OT 112 119 39 12 L 1
52 Wed, Jan 21, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 100 106 39 13 L 2
53 Fri, Jan 23, 1981 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 131 122 40 13 W 1
54 Sun, Jan 25, 1981 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 93 98 40 14 L 1
55 Mon, Jan 26, 1981 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 99 94 41 14 W 1
56 Wed, Jan 28, 1981 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 98 108 41 15 L 1
57 Thu, Jan 29, 1981 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 111 115 41 16 L 2
58 Wed, Feb 4, 1981 Box Score Utah Jazz W 114 89 42 16 W 1
59 Fri, Feb 6, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 112 99 43 16 W 2
60 Sun, Feb 8, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets W OT 113 107 44 16 W 3
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Tue, Feb 10, 1981 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 107 93 45 16 W 4
62 Wed, Feb 11, 1981 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 119 97 46 16 W 5
63 Fri, Feb 13, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 110 94 47 16 W 6
64 Sun, Feb 15, 1981 Box Score New York Knicks L 101 115 47 17 L 1
65 Tue, Feb 17, 1981 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 118 109 48 17 W 1
66 Thu, Feb 19, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 126 127 48 18 L 1
67 Fri, Feb 20, 1981 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 111 112 48 19 L 2
68 Sun, Feb 22, 1981 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 116 110 49 19 W 1
69 Fri, Feb 27, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 117 121 49 20 L 1
70 Sun, Mar 1, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 101 96 50 20 W 1
71 Wed, Mar 4, 1981 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 126 106 51 20 W 2
72 Thu, Mar 5, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 112 100 52 20 W 3
73 Fri, Mar 6, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 128 107 53 20 W 4
74 Sun, Mar 8, 1981 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 68 105 53 21 L 1
75 Tue, Mar 10, 1981 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 103 107 53 22 L 2
76 Wed, Mar 18, 1981 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 126 114 54 22 W 1
77 Sat, Mar 21, 1981 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 105 114 54 23 L 1
78 Sun, Mar 22, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 107 91 55 23 W 1
79 Tue, Mar 24, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 111 120 55 24 L 1
80 Wed, Mar 25, 1981 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 101 110 55 25 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Mar 27, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 124 100 56 25 W 1
82 Sun, Mar 29, 1981 Box Score Utah Jazz W 105 90 57 25 W 2

Playoffs