Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1980-81 Schedule and Results

1980-81 San Antonio Spurs Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 52-30, Finished 1st in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Stan Albeck (52-30)

PTS/G: 112.3 (3rd of 23) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 109.4 (17th of 23)
SRS: 2.18 (7th of 23) ▪ Pace: 102.9 (7th of 23)
Off Rtg: 108.5 (4th of 23) ▪ Def Rtg: 105.7 (12th of 23)
Expected W-L: 48-34 (6th of 23)

Arena: HemisFair Arena ▪ Attendance: 440,553 (9th of 23)

NBA 1981 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Western Conference Semifinals (3-4) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 10, 1980 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 113 112 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 11, 1980 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks L 92 103 1 1 L 1
3 Tue, Oct 14, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 109 103 2 1 W 1
4 Thu, Oct 16, 1980 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 102 99 3 1 W 2
5 Sat, Oct 18, 1980 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 110 96 4 1 W 3
6 Tue, Oct 21, 1980 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 123 120 5 1 W 4
7 Thu, Oct 23, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 128 109 6 1 W 5
8 Sat, Oct 25, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 116 98 7 1 W 6
9 Sun, Oct 26, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 108 102 8 1 W 7
10 Tue, Oct 28, 1980 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 120 112 9 1 W 8
11 Wed, Oct 29, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz L 96 109 9 2 L 1
12 Fri, Oct 31, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 112 96 10 2 W 1
13 Sat, Nov 1, 1980 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors L 108 123 10 3 L 1
14 Wed, Nov 5, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 114 84 11 3 W 1
15 Sat, Nov 8, 1980 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 112 109 12 3 W 2
16 Tue, Nov 11, 1980 Box Score Indiana Pacers L 113 119 12 4 L 1
17 Wed, Nov 12, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 127 130 12 5 L 2
18 Thu, Nov 13, 1980 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers W 113 107 13 5 W 1
19 Sat, Nov 15, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 120 104 14 5 W 2
20 Tue, Nov 18, 1980 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks L 93 97 14 6 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Wed, Nov 19, 1980 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W OT 112 104 15 6 W 1
22 Sat, Nov 22, 1980 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 101 108 15 7 L 1
23 Wed, Nov 26, 1980 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 125 122 16 7 W 1
24 Fri, Nov 28, 1980 Box Score Houston Rockets L 115 124 16 8 L 1
25 Sat, Nov 29, 1980 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W 106 104 17 8 W 1
26 Tue, Dec 2, 1980 Box Score Phoenix Suns L 107 122 17 9 L 1
27 Thu, Dec 4, 1980 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 130 100 18 9 W 1
28 Sun, Dec 7, 1980 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 115 116 18 10 L 1
29 Mon, Dec 8, 1980 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 99 104 18 11 L 2
30 Tue, Dec 9, 1980 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 115 90 19 11 W 1
31 Thu, Dec 11, 1980 Box Score Kansas City Kings W 122 104 20 11 W 2
32 Sat, Dec 13, 1980 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 147 123 21 11 W 3
33 Sun, Dec 14, 1980 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks L 98 115 21 12 L 1
34 Tue, Dec 16, 1980 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 89 83 22 12 W 1
35 Wed, Dec 17, 1980 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 113 107 23 12 W 2
36 Fri, Dec 19, 1980 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 126 111 24 12 W 3
37 Sun, Dec 21, 1980 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 122 135 24 13 L 1
38 Thu, Dec 25, 1980 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 111 131 24 14 L 2
39 Sat, Dec 27, 1980 Box Score Utah Jazz W 142 117 25 14 W 1
40 Tue, Dec 30, 1980 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 102 100 26 14 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Fri, Jan 2, 1981 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 118 112 27 14 W 3
42 Sat, Jan 3, 1981 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 119 111 28 14 W 4
43 Tue, Jan 6, 1981 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 113 108 29 14 W 5
44 Wed, Jan 7, 1981 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 102 135 29 15 L 1
45 Fri, Jan 9, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 102 86 30 15 W 1
46 Sun, Jan 11, 1981 Box Score Washington Bullets W 137 106 31 15 W 2
47 Wed, Jan 14, 1981 Box Score New York Knicks W 116 105 32 15 W 3
48 Fri, Jan 16, 1981 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 85 94 32 16 L 1
49 Sat, Jan 17, 1981 Box Score @ Washington Bullets L 93 103 32 17 L 2
50 Tue, Jan 20, 1981 Box Score Phoenix Suns W OT 119 112 33 17 W 1
51 Wed, Jan 21, 1981 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings L 108 115 33 18 L 1
52 Sat, Jan 24, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets L 115 129 33 19 L 2
53 Sun, Jan 25, 1981 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 100 118 33 20 L 3
54 Thu, Jan 29, 1981 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 122 108 34 20 W 1
55 Tue, Feb 3, 1981 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 102 99 35 20 W 2
56 Wed, Feb 4, 1981 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 135 132 36 20 W 3
57 Fri, Feb 6, 1981 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 122 96 37 20 W 4
58 Sun, Feb 8, 1981 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 102 98 38 20 W 5
59 Wed, Feb 11, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 89 108 38 21 L 1
60 Thu, Feb 12, 1981 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 110 109 39 21 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Sat, Feb 14, 1981 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 107 99 40 21 W 2
62 Sun, Feb 15, 1981 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 110 108 41 21 W 3
63 Tue, Feb 17, 1981 Box Score Boston Celtics L 116 128 41 22 L 1
64 Thu, Feb 19, 1981 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 104 118 41 23 L 2
65 Fri, Feb 20, 1981 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 106 109 41 24 L 3
66 Sun, Feb 22, 1981 Box Score Denver Nuggets W OT 133 129 42 24 W 1
67 Tue, Feb 24, 1981 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 131 126 43 24 W 2
68 Thu, Feb 26, 1981 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 123 113 44 24 W 3
69 Sun, Mar 1, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 102 86 45 24 W 4
70 Wed, Mar 4, 1981 Box Score Kansas City Kings L 97 111 45 25 L 1
71 Fri, Mar 6, 1981 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 94 102 45 26 L 2
72 Sun, Mar 8, 1981 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 133 108 46 26 W 1
73 Tue, Mar 10, 1981 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 104 118 46 27 L 1
74 Sat, Mar 14, 1981 Box Score @ San Diego Clippers L 118 126 46 28 L 2
75 Sun, Mar 15, 1981 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W OT 114 112 47 28 W 1
76 Tue, Mar 17, 1981 Box Score Utah Jazz W 94 86 48 28 W 2
77 Fri, Mar 20, 1981 Box Score @ Kansas City Kings W OT 114 111 49 28 W 3
78 Sun, Mar 22, 1981 Box Score San Diego Clippers W 107 99 50 28 W 4
79 Tue, Mar 24, 1981 Box Score Denver Nuggets L 123 125 50 29 L 1
80 Wed, Mar 25, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 111 117 50 30 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Thu, Mar 26, 1981 Box Score @ Utah Jazz W 98 97 51 30 W 1
82 Sun, Mar 29, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 135 109 52 30 W 2

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Tue, Apr 7, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L 98 107 0 1 L 1
2 Wed, Apr 8, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets W 125 113 1 1 W 1
3 Fri, Apr 10, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 99 112 1 2 L 1
4 Sun, Apr 12, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 114 112 2 2 W 1
5 Tue, Apr 14, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L 117 123 2 3 L 1
6 Wed, Apr 15, 1981 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 101 96 3 3 W 1
7 Fri, Apr 17, 1981 Box Score Houston Rockets L 100 105 3 4 L 1