Mobile Site You Are Here > BBR > Teams > Utah Jazz > 1997-98 Schedule and Results

1997-98 Utah Jazz Schedule and Results

Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 62-20, Finished 1st in NBA Midwest Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Jerry Sloan (62-20)

PTS/G: 101.0 (3rd of 29) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 94.4 (13th of 29)
SRS: 5.73 (5th of 29) ▪ Pace: 89.2 (21st of 29)
Off Rtg: 112.7 (1st of 29) ▪ Def Rtg: 105.4 (17th of 29)
Expected W-L: 59-23 (4th of 29)

Arena: Delta Center ▪ Attendance: 815,889 (4th of 29)

NBA 1998 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Finals (4-2) versus Chicago Bulls  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Finals (4-0) versus Los Angeles Lakers  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference Semifinals (4-1) versus San Antonio Spurs  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Conference First Round (3-2) versus Houston Rockets  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 31, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 87 104 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Nov 1, 1997 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 102 84 1 1 W 1
3 Mon, Nov 3, 1997 Box Score Washington Wizards L 86 90 1 2 L 1
4 Tue, Nov 4, 1997 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns L 84 106 1 3 L 2
5 Fri, Nov 7, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 91 89 2 3 W 1
6 Sat, Nov 8, 1997 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 80 87 2 4 L 1
7 Wed, Nov 12, 1997 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 98 80 3 4 W 1
8 Fri, Nov 14, 1997 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics W 110 104 4 4 W 2
9 Sat, Nov 15, 1997 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 85 77 5 4 W 3
10 Tue, Nov 18, 1997 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers L 92 97 5 5 L 1
11 Thu, Nov 20, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 95 97 5 6 L 2
12 Sat, Nov 22, 1997 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 103 74 6 6 W 1
13 Mon, Nov 24, 1997 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W OT 133 124 7 6 W 2
14 Fri, Nov 28, 1997 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 111 82 8 6 W 3
15 Sat, Nov 29, 1997 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers W 94 91 9 6 W 4
16 Mon, Dec 1, 1997 Box Score New Jersey Nets W 100 95 10 6 W 5
17 Wed, Dec 3, 1997 Box Score Toronto Raptors W 115 98 11 6 W 6
18 Fri, Dec 5, 1997 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 77 94 11 7 L 1
19 Mon, Dec 8, 1997 Box Score Indiana Pacers W 106 97 12 7 W 1
20 Tue, Dec 9, 1997 Box Score @ Sacramento Kings L 101 113 12 8 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Dec 12, 1997 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 68 66 13 8 W 1
22 Mon, Dec 15, 1997 Box Score @ Washington Wizards L 86 88 13 9 L 1
23 Tue, Dec 16, 1997 Box Score @ Miami Heat W 103 95 14 9 W 1
24 Thu, Dec 18, 1997 Box Score @ Orlando Magic W 85 73 15 9 W 2
25 Sun, Dec 21, 1997 Box Score @ Cleveland Cavaliers L 101 106 15 10 L 1
26 Mon, Dec 22, 1997 Box Score @ Atlanta Hawks W 101 99 16 10 W 1
27 Thu, Dec 25, 1997 Box Score Houston Rockets W 107 103 17 10 W 2
28 Sat, Dec 27, 1997 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers L 91 102 17 11 L 1
29 Sun, Dec 28, 1997 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 89 88 18 11 W 1
30 Tue, Dec 30, 1997 Box Score @ Denver Nuggets W 132 99 19 11 W 2
31 Sat, Jan 3, 1998 Box Score Atlanta Hawks W 97 82 20 11 W 3
32 Tue, Jan 6, 1998 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W OT 98 95 21 11 W 4
33 Thu, Jan 8, 1998 Box Score Milwaukee Bucks W 116 109 22 11 W 5
34 Sat, Jan 10, 1998 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 111 84 23 11 W 6
35 Mon, Jan 12, 1998 Box Score Cleveland Cavaliers W 106 99 24 11 W 7
36 Fri, Jan 16, 1998 Box Score @ Portland Trail Blazers L 86 96 24 12 L 1
37 Sat, Jan 17, 1998 Box Score Orlando Magic W 107 93 25 12 W 1
38 Mon, Jan 19, 1998 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 98 89 26 12 W 2
39 Wed, Jan 21, 1998 Box Score Golden State Warriors W 98 85 27 12 W 3
40 Fri, Jan 23, 1998 Box Score @ Indiana Pacers L 102 106 27 13 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Sun, Jan 25, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 101 94 28 13 W 1
42 Wed, Jan 28, 1998 Box Score Seattle SuperSonics L 93 101 28 14 L 1
43 Fri, Jan 30, 1998 Box Score Dallas Mavericks W 104 94 29 14 W 1
44 Sun, Feb 1, 1998 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 115 88 30 14 W 2
45 Tue, Feb 3, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Clippers L 102 111 30 15 L 1 at Anaheim, CA
46 Wed, Feb 4, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls W 101 93 31 15 W 1
47 Tue, Feb 10, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 106 98 32 15 W 2
48 Thu, Feb 12, 1998 Box Score Boston Celtics W 118 100 33 15 W 3
49 Sat, Feb 14, 1998 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics W 111 91 34 15 W 4
50 Mon, Feb 16, 1998 Box Score Charlotte Hornets W 96 90 35 15 W 5
51 Wed, Feb 18, 1998 Box Score New York Knicks W 94 78 36 15 W 6
52 Sat, Feb 21, 1998 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 79 77 37 15 W 7
53 Tue, Feb 24, 1998 Box Score Miami Heat L 102 104 37 16 L 1
54 Thu, Feb 26, 1998 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 108 97 38 16 W 1
55 Sun, Mar 1, 1998 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 106 100 39 16 W 2
56 Tue, Mar 3, 1998 Box Score @ Toronto Raptors W 108 93 40 16 W 3
57 Wed, Mar 4, 1998 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 110 94 41 16 W 4
58 Fri, Mar 6, 1998 Box Score @ New Jersey Nets W 122 115 42 16 W 5
59 Sat, Mar 7, 1998 Box Score @ Milwaukee Bucks W 110 92 43 16 W 6
60 Mon, Mar 9, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets W 100 93 44 16 W 7
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Mar 11, 1998 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 110 95 45 16 W 8
62 Fri, Mar 13, 1998 Box Score Vancouver Grizzlies W 110 101 46 16 W 9
63 Sun, Mar 15, 1998 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 109 98 47 16 W 10
64 Mon, Mar 16, 1998 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves W 102 96 48 16 W 11
65 Wed, Mar 18, 1998 Box Score @ Charlotte Hornets L 85 111 48 17 L 1
66 Fri, Mar 20, 1998 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 91 79 49 17 W 1
67 Sun, Mar 22, 1998 Box Score @ New York Knicks W 2OT 124 119 50 17 W 2
68 Tue, Mar 24, 1998 Box Score Phoenix Suns W 92 73 51 17 W 3
69 Fri, Mar 27, 1998 Box Score @ Dallas Mavericks W 99 90 52 17 W 4
70 Sat, Mar 28, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 106 91 53 17 W 5
71 Tue, Mar 31, 1998 Box Score @ Seattle SuperSonics L 86 88 53 18 L 1
72 Wed, Apr 1, 1998 Box Score Portland Trail Blazers W 98 89 54 18 W 1
73 Fri, Apr 3, 1998 Box Score Denver Nuggets W 97 75 55 18 W 2
74 Sun, Apr 5, 1998 Box Score @ Vancouver Grizzlies W 99 93 56 18 W 3
75 Tue, Apr 7, 1998 Box Score @ Golden State Warriors W 101 99 57 18 W 4
76 Wed, Apr 8, 1998 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 98 88 58 18 W 5
77 Fri, Apr 10, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Clippers W 126 109 59 18 W 6
78 Sat, Apr 11, 1998 Box Score @ Minnesota Timberwolves L 103 110 59 19 L 1
79 Tue, Apr 14, 1998 Box Score Minnesota Timberwolves W 126 109 60 19 W 1
80 Thu, Apr 16, 1998 Box Score Sacramento Kings W 99 86 61 19 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
81 Fri, Apr 17, 1998 Box Score @ Phoenix Suns W 102 99 62 19 W 3
82 Sun, Apr 19, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers L 98 102 62 20 L 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Thu, Apr 23, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets L 90 103 0 1 L 1
2 Sat, Apr 25, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets W 105 90 1 1 W 1
3 Wed, Apr 29, 1998 Box Score @ Houston Rockets L 85 89 1 2 L 1
4 Fri, May 1, 1998 Box Score @ Houston Rockets W 93 71 2 2 W 1
5 Sun, May 3, 1998 Box Score Houston Rockets W 84 70 3 2 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
6 Tue, May 5, 1998 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 83 82 4 2 W 3
7 Thu, May 7, 1998 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W OT 109 106 5 2 W 4
8 Sat, May 9, 1998 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs L 64 86 5 3 L 1
9 Sun, May 10, 1998 Box Score @ San Antonio Spurs W 82 73 6 3 W 1
10 Tue, May 12, 1998 Box Score San Antonio Spurs W 87 77 7 3 W 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
11 Sat, May 16, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 112 77 8 3 W 3
12 Mon, May 18, 1998 Box Score Los Angeles Lakers W 99 95 9 3 W 4
13 Fri, May 22, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 109 98 10 3 W 5
14 Sun, May 24, 1998 Box Score @ Los Angeles Lakers W 96 92 11 3 W 6
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
15 Wed, Jun 3, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls W OT 88 85 12 3 W 7
16 Fri, Jun 5, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 88 93 12 4 L 1
17 Sun, Jun 7, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 54 96 12 5 L 2
18 Wed, Jun 10, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls L 82 86 12 6 L 3
19 Fri, Jun 12, 1998 Box Score @ Chicago Bulls W 83 81 13 6 W 1
20 Sun, Jun 14, 1998 Box Score Chicago Bulls L 86 87 13 7 L 1