Mobile Site You Are Here >  >  >  > 1965-66 Schedule and Results

1965-66 Los Angeles Lakers Schedule and Results

Franchise Encyclopedia  ▪  Previous Season ▪ Next Season

Record: 45-35, Finished 1st in NBA Western Division (Schedule and Results)
Coach: Fred Schaus (45-35)

PTS/G: 119.5 (1st of 9) ▪ Opp PTS/G: 116.4 (4th of 9)
SRS: 2.76 (3rd of 9) ▪ Pace: 121.2 (6th of 9)
Off Rtg: 98.3 (1st of 9) ▪ Def Rtg: 95.7 (5th of 9)
Expected W-L: 47-33 (3rd of 9)

Arena: Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena ▪ Attendance: NA

NBA 1966 Playoffs:
Lost NBA Finals (3-4) versus Boston Celtics  (Series Stats)
Won NBA Western Division Finals (3-4) versus St. Louis Hawks  (Series Stats)

Regular Season

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Oct 15, 1965 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 122 115 1 0 W 1
2 Sat, Oct 16, 1965 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks W 106 94 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Oct 20, 1965 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 96 100 2 1 L 1
4 Sat, Oct 23, 1965 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 101 106 2 2 L 2
5 Tue, Oct 26, 1965 Box Score New York Knicks W 104 102 3 2 W 1
6 Thu, Oct 28, 1965 Box Score New York Knicks W 140 116 4 2 W 2
7 Sat, Oct 30, 1965 Box Score San Francisco Warriors L 122 124 4 3 L 1
8 Wed, Nov 3, 1965 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 120 116 5 3 W 1
9 Fri, Nov 5, 1965 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 118 116 6 3 W 2
10 Sat, Nov 6, 1965 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 101 131 6 4 L 1
11 Sun, Nov 7, 1965 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 116 137 6 5 L 2
12 Tue, Nov 9, 1965 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 110 118 6 6 L 3
13 Wed, Nov 10, 1965 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 133 125 7 6 W 1
14 Fri, Nov 12, 1965 Box Score N New York Knicks W 107 106 8 6 W 2 at Minneapolis, MN
15 Sun, Nov 14, 1965 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 129 114 9 6 W 3
16 Wed, Nov 17, 1965 Box Score Boston Celtics W 125 115 10 6 W 4
17 Fri, Nov 19, 1965 Box Score San Francisco Warriors W 135 124 11 6 W 5
18 Sat, Nov 20, 1965 Box Score N San Francisco Warriors W 133 117 12 6 W 6 at Las Vegas, NV
19 Sun, Nov 21, 1965 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 104 110 12 7 L 1
20 Wed, Nov 24, 1965 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers W 127 124 13 7 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
21 Fri, Nov 26, 1965 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 107 110 13 8 L 1
22 Sat, Nov 27, 1965 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 95 101 13 9 L 2
23 Sun, Nov 28, 1965 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 128 110 14 9 W 1
24 Tue, Nov 30, 1965 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 120 126 14 10 L 1
25 Wed, Dec 1, 1965 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 121 105 15 10 W 1
26 Fri, Dec 3, 1965 Box Score Cincinnati Royals L 118 122 15 11 L 1
27 Mon, Dec 6, 1965 Box Score N Philadelphia 76ers L 107 116 15 12 L 2 at Charleston, WV
28 Tue, Dec 7, 1965 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 127 131 15 13 L 3
29 Wed, Dec 8, 1965 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 106 108 15 14 L 4
30 Fri, Dec 10, 1965 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals W 129 110 16 14 W 1
31 Sat, Dec 11, 1965 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 126 108 17 14 W 2
32 Sun, Dec 12, 1965 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 123 101 18 14 W 3
33 Wed, Dec 15, 1965 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 108 122 18 15 L 1
34 Fri, Dec 17, 1965 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 117 127 18 16 L 2
35 Sun, Dec 19, 1965 Box Score San Francisco Warriors W 132 120 19 16 W 1
36 Thu, Dec 23, 1965 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 122 112 20 16 W 2
37 Sat, Dec 25, 1965 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 115 106 21 16 W 3
38 Mon, Dec 27, 1965 Box Score N St. Louis Hawks W 108 100 22 16 W 4 at Memphis, TN
39 Tue, Dec 28, 1965 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks W 107 100 23 16 W 5
40 Wed, Dec 29, 1965 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 109 111 23 17 L 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
41 Thu, Dec 30, 1965 Box Score N Detroit Pistons L 114 117 23 18 L 2 at Fort Wayne, IN
42 Sun, Jan 2, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics L 113 124 23 19 L 3
43 Wed, Jan 5, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics W 120 113 24 19 W 1
44 Fri, Jan 7, 1966 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers W 126 120 25 19 W 2
45 Sat, Jan 8, 1966 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 127 133 25 20 L 1
46 Sun, Jan 9, 1966 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 111 98 26 20 W 1
47 Wed, Jan 12, 1966 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 102 114 26 21 L 1
48 Fri, Jan 14, 1966 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 118 110 27 21 W 1
49 Sat, Jan 15, 1966 Box Score New York Knicks W 152 123 28 21 W 2
50 Tue, Jan 18, 1966 Box Score @ Cincinnati Royals L 108 119 28 22 L 1
51 Thu, Jan 20, 1966 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 121 123 28 23 L 2
52 Fri, Jan 21, 1966 Box Score San Francisco Warriors L 109 120 28 24 L 3
53 Tue, Jan 25, 1966 Box Score N Philadelphia 76ers L 106 110 28 25 L 4 at New York, NY
54 Wed, Jan 26, 1966 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 126 110 29 25 W 1
55 Fri, Jan 28, 1966 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 138 123 30 25 W 2
56 Sun, Jan 30, 1966 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 136 122 31 25 W 3
57 Wed, Feb 2, 1966 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 119 118 32 25 W 4
58 Fri, Feb 4, 1966 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 132 125 33 25 W 5
59 Sun, Feb 6, 1966 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 105 109 33 26 L 1
60 Mon, Feb 7, 1966 Box Score @ Philadelphia 76ers L 125 132 33 27 L 2
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
61 Wed, Feb 9, 1966 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets W OT 123 116 34 27 W 1
62 Sat, Feb 12, 1966 Box Score @ New York Knicks L 127 140 34 28 L 1
63 Sun, Feb 13, 1966 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 120 110 35 28 W 1
64 Tue, Feb 15, 1966 Box Score New York Knicks W 132 124 36 28 W 2
65 Thu, Feb 17, 1966 Box Score Philadelphia 76ers L 121 136 36 29 L 1
66 Sat, Feb 19, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics L 111 115 36 30 L 2
67 Mon, Feb 21, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics L 108 115 36 31 L 3
68 Wed, Feb 23, 1966 Box Score Cincinnati Royals W 140 133 37 31 W 1
69 Sat, Feb 26, 1966 Box Score @ Detroit Pistons W 131 118 38 31 W 2
70 Wed, Mar 2, 1966 Box Score @ Baltimore Bullets L 113 119 38 32 L 1
71 Fri, Mar 4, 1966 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 123 106 39 32 W 1
72 Sat, Mar 5, 1966 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors W 125 123 40 32 W 2
73 Sun, Mar 6, 1966 Box Score Baltimore Bullets W 126 105 41 32 W 3
74 Tue, Mar 8, 1966 Box Score @ New York Knicks L OT 132 133 41 33 L 1
75 Wed, Mar 9, 1966 Box Score N Cincinnati Royals W 119 116 42 33 W 1 at Indianapolis, IN
76 Fri, Mar 11, 1966 Box Score Detroit Pistons L 114 116 42 34 L 1
77 Tue, Mar 15, 1966 Box Score Detroit Pistons W 135 108 43 34 W 1
78 Fri, Mar 18, 1966 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 132 120 44 34 W 2
79 Sat, Mar 19, 1966 Box Score @ San Francisco Warriors L 119 125 44 35 L 1
80 Sun, Mar 20, 1966 Box Score San Francisco Warriors W 124 112 45 35 W 1

Playoffs

G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
1 Fri, Apr 1, 1966 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 129 106 1 0 W 1
2 Sun, Apr 3, 1966 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 125 116 2 0 W 2
3 Wed, Apr 6, 1966 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 113 120 2 1 L 1
4 Sat, Apr 9, 1966 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks W 107 95 3 1 W 1
5 Sun, Apr 10, 1966 Box Score St. Louis Hawks L 100 112 3 2 L 1
6 Wed, Apr 13, 1966 Box Score @ St. Louis Hawks L 127 131 3 3 L 2
7 Fri, Apr 15, 1966 Box Score St. Louis Hawks W 130 121 4 3 W 1
G Date Opponent Tm Opp W L Streak Notes
8 Sun, Apr 17, 1966 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W OT 133 129 5 3 W 2
9 Tue, Apr 19, 1966 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 109 129 5 4 L 1
10 Wed, Apr 20, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics L 106 120 5 5 L 2
11 Fri, Apr 22, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics L 117 122 5 6 L 3
12 Sun, Apr 24, 1966 Box Score @ Boston Celtics W 121 117 6 6 W 1
13 Tue, Apr 26, 1966 Box Score Boston Celtics W 123 115 7 6 W 2
14 Thu, Apr 28, 1966 Box Score @ Boston Celtics L 93 95 7 7 L 1